Sweet & Sour Chicken

Okay so I know, It’s been a while.  I’ve been very busy working (which is awesome), but now I’m back and I have continued trying out new recipes.  That’s what I want to focus on now….trying recipes and posting them once I know that they are good.

I want this to be a recipe blog where I don’t post everyday, but rather when I find a good recipe to share.  I am trying to find 20-30 really good recipes that I want to cook over and over, and then I want to create a recipe scrapbook because I think it would be fun.  I want to do this with family recipes as well, but that’s going to take some time since most of our family recipes are not written down.

We gave this recipe an A++.  It was absolutely delicious!  If you love sweet & sour chicken then you need to try this recipe!

Origination of recipe (working backwards):
Sweet & Sour Chicken
For the chicken:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (Used 1 lb chicken tenders)
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup cornstarch
salt & pepper
1/4 cup canola oil (I used extra virgin olive oil) 
Preheat oven to 325.
Cut boneless chicken breasts into chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Coat chicken in egg and then in cornstarch. Pan fry in oil until golden brown, but not cooked through. Place in a single layer in a baking dish.
For the Sauce:
3/4 cup sugar
4 tablespoons ketchup
1/2 cup vinegar (I used cider vinegar)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon garlic powder
Mix all ingredients together and pour over chicken. Bake chicken for 30 minutes, turning after 15 minutes
I then made basmati rice and some steam-in-the-bag broccoli.  I covered the rice with the chicken so the rice had the sweet and sour flavor.

This entry was posted in Eating Right. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

