Salad, Lasagna, Homemade Tomato Sauce, and lots of cookies :)

Happy Monday!!

Last night, Mike and I had friends over ;)  We wanted to host a nice, delicious dinner.  We haven’t had lasagna in a while and decided that’s what I would make.

So I made a nice green salad to start with a some cut up cucumber and fresh tomato ~ the fresh tomato was compliments of my friend Gaurav.

Then we had lasagna for dinner, and cookies for dessert.  Our friends brought some delicious red wine to enjoy while feasting :)

Putting it all together:

First, I started with dessert…Better-than-Brownies Chocolate Cookies to be exact.  I baked them on Saturday night since I wanted to test out the new recipe before sharing it with our guests.  Honestly I wasn’t very impressed at all.  Keep Reading. So at that point, I decided that I might have to start looking for a new dessert recipe.  Until the next day when I tried another cookie…It was delicious!!  I don’t know what happened but they transformed overnight :)  They are like eating a brownie-cookie, and P-e-r-f-e-c-t with a glass of nice, cold milk…Success. I found this recipe here:  browneyedbaker – recipe.

I appreciate a nice looking batter.

I went on to make some Crispy and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I got this recipe from Martha :)  Martha Stewart.com that is :) The Chocolate Chip cookie recipe I tried wasn’t bad…the batter was very thin, so the first batch came out too thin, and I had to fix this, so I added more flour since they had a really good flavor that could support the additional flour :)  That was just what they needed.  They were still a little thin, but they were very good :)

The Tomato Sauce:

I started off with this recipe for Tomato Sauce, and took away what I could and improvised when I needed to.  Basically I came up with this adapted recipe – Homemade Tomato Sauce.

The Lasagna:

Onto, the featured dish of the evening…“My Lasagna”. I was very excited to add the homemade sauce to it, and a little skeptical about how it would turn out.  It was amazing and absolutely delicious!  I used ground turkey instead of italian sausage, and it was soo good!  I was very happy with the end result, and I was able to save 6 pieces for a later date ;)  Here’s the Recipe:  Angie’s Lasagna.

Enjoy, and Happy Eating!!!

Before I go I want to leave you with a

“Together Workout Update”:

Last week we ended up waking up at 5am only 2 days/5 days.  Mike played poker Thursday night, so Friday we were both a little tired from staying up late on Thursday and skipped waking up early Friday morning.  Saturday there was no walking, and Sunday there was a 2 mile walk around the block.  We are moving ahead slowly.  Hopefully I will have some progress to report soon.

We are catching up on Nip Tuck and that was our excuse for not waking up early this morning.  We also had friends over and needed to unwind before bed ;)

-Angie

This entry was posted in california, Eating Right, Exercise, Food Blog, Food Blogger, Pacific Beach, San diego, San Diego Food Blogger, Walk 500 Miles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Salad, Lasagna, Homemade Tomato Sauce, and lots of cookies :)

  1. Oh yay, so glad you loved the cookies after all and that they were a great end to your dinner party!

  2. Angie L says:

    Thank you, Michelle!!

    I loved them, and so did my fiance and guests :)

    I will definitely be making them Again!!

  3. What a great meal you put together for Mike and your friends – They sure are lucky! Everything looks so tasty. I especially love those cookies – Yum!

    Also, if you’re interested, I’m having a silicone muffin pan giveaway on my blog – You should enter!

  4. Angie L says:

    Thanks Georgia!

    Sounds great I’ll be sure to stop by and check it out :)

Leave a Reply

