My Exercise Journey – Part 1

My 2010 New Year’s Resolution:
Since it is always sunny in San Diego, it makes it a little bit easier to accomplish my 2010 New Year’s Resolution…”Walk 500 Miles”.  I’m originally from Massachusetts, and I moved out to the West Coast to be closer to the sun with my boyfriend.  I no longer have a 9am-5pm office job, so I definitely have my fair share of time off to exercise.  Don’t get me wrong, I do spend up to 10-20 days a month working onsite at a trade show and most days last 10-12 hours.






So since it is the end of April, you are probably wondering if I have given up on my New Year’s Resolution.  Well the answer is “NO”…I have actually completed 235 miles, and I am very close to being halfway done.  I have altered my goal to include running and rollerblading along with walking.  This helps to keep things fun and interesting for me considering the last thing I want to happen is to get bored with the goal.


How do I get my motivation to keep going?

In January, I started walking slow and steady and found a 2 mile walk around the neighborhood that I would do everyday.  Then when I got bored, I bumped it up to 3.5 miles and changed the scenery.  I would also add new playlists at least once a month to my IPhone to keep my ears happy; I prefer upbeat hip hop music.  Lucky for me I also live 2 blocks from the Pacific Ocean, so I would finish up my walks with a nice stroll by the ocean.  By the end of February/beginning of March, I completed 125 miles and accomplished my first goal.  

Exercise Incentives:





When it comes to goals, I love rewarding myself 🙂  Who doesn’t??  Well I wanted to keep motivated, so I decided on 4 goals:  125, 250, 375, & 500 miles, respectively.  At each level, I decide on exercise related “gifts” that I get for myself.  At 125 miles, I bought myself a pair of Reebok Easytone sneakers, and some new work out shirts, shorts, and socks.  In case you are wondering, yes I do think the Easytone sneakers are helping firm up my backside 🙂 I like them a lot and would definitely recommend them.  125 miles is the only goal I have accomplished so far, but I am on pace to hit 250 miles by Friday, April 30, 2010.

This entry was posted in Exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

