Broccoli Soup

Here is the recipe for “Broccoli Soup”.  It is the first soup that I have cooked in the HealthMaster blender (I’m referring to it as The HM from now on).  I’ve made this recipe twice.  The first time I added way too much garlic!!  I didn’t think there was such a thing as too much…I love garlic, but I don’t like my breath stinking like it that bad.

Here are the ingredients:

1 1/2 cups cooked broccoli

1/2 cup mushrooms

1/2 cup onion

A very very small clove of garlic…yes only “1” small clove

1 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup 1% milk

Here’s how I put it all together.

  • I cooked the broccoli for 15-20 minutes until it was pretty soft when I stuck a fork in it.
  • Then I chopped the onion and mushrooms and fried them up with some extra virgin olive oil.
  • I let the broccoli cool for 5 minutes.
  • I added all the ingredients to the The HM and turned it on and up to speed 8.  Then I cooked for 8 minutes.
  • If you don’t have The HM, a food processor and a blender should do the trick, but it will take some extra steps.

The one thing the food processor/blender combination won’t do is heat the soup while it blends.  That’s right when it’s ready it’s Hot!! How cool is that?

Have you ever used a food processor and then a blender to make soup?  How did it turn out for you?

Angie Crocker

This entry was posted in Eating Right. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

