Delicious Meatloaf Recipe

Last night, Mike worked late, and then we visited his work friend Jeff, and brought dinner.  Well most of it anyway. I cooked a 93% lean ground beef meatloaf with some sweet corn-on-the-cob, and Jeff heated up some of Mrs. T’s pierogies on the stove with some sliced up yellow onion.

The pierogies were very good and a great substitute for mashed potatoes since I don’t make mashed potatoes. We try to stay away from rice and potatoes as much as possible, but it ends up being potatoes more than rice.  My parent’s make the best mashed potatoes, so I’ll be sure to ask for some when I visit at the end of August.

Meatloaf, corn-on-the cob, and a side of pierogies.

I bet you are wondering where I found such a delicious recipe for meatloaf.  I borrowed it from Tiffany’s Blog – “I don’t cook but my boyfriend does” a fellow San Diegan food blogger 🙂

I used Tiffany’s Turkey Meatloaf Recipe – Printable from her site and adapted it to what I had on hand.  The recipe was originally from myrecipes.com.

The only changes I made were using 93% lean ground beef instead of turkey, and excluding the beef broth.  I only did this based on what I had on hand.  Next time, I would like to try it with ground turkey and also add the broth.  Exchanging the breadcrumbs for Ritz’s crackers would also be tasty, but again I didn’t have any of those on hand either…Spoken like a true chef.

Turkey Meatloaf

Yield: Makes 8 servings

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, chopped (1 1/2 cups)

2 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 tsp salt, divided

1/2 tsp pepper, divided

1 1/2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth

3 tbsp ketchup, divided

1 3/4 lb. ground turkey, 97% lean

3/4 cup dry breadcrumbs

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 large egg white, lightly beaten

Preparation

1.)  Preheat oven to 375°. Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring frequently, until soft, about 5 minutes. Add garlic, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook, stirring, 1 minute. Stir in Worcestershire sauce, broth, and 1 tablespoon ketchup; transfer mixture to a large bowl, and cool.

2.)  Add turkey, breadcrumbs, egg, egg white, and remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper to mixture in bowl, and mix well. (Mixture will be very moist.)

3.)  Cover a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and coat lightly with cooking spray. Form the turkey mixture into a loaf, and place on the pan. Brush meatloaf evenly with remaining 2 tablespoons ketchup. Bake 1 hour or until thermometer inserted into center registers 170°. Let meatloaf stand 5 minutes before serving.

Enjoy this recipe and the rest of your weekend!

-Angie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious Meatloaf Recipe

  1. Pingback: Turkey Meatloaf Take 2 |

Leave a Reply

