Running the Trail?

Run 500 Miles:  Down to 45 miles left to go.  I know my blog is mainly focused on walking/running right now, and it has been for a while.  Bear with me because in due time (once I accomplish my goals for 2010), I will be shifting the focus back to food 🙂

Running the Trail?…I think not!  I was able to get a lot of beautiful pictures, but there is no way I am running this section of the Telecote Canyon Trail.  I have been told that parking and going in at another location is better since it is a lot more traveled and level.  So there is still a lot more exploration left to do, but the section of trail near our place is no good.

Here are some photos:

As you can see this area is great if you are looking to go hiking and don’t mind traveling through overgrown areas.  After walking about a half a mile, I didn’t really know which way to go because it was so overgrown.  I wasn’t about to be moving brush aside or walking through high grass.  Remember Rattlesnakes.  Ugh. When I was almost back to the street, I thought I heard rustling, so I booked it up the hill.  I also kept my ipod on really low the whole time.  I was a little spooked.

Not going to lie this area was a little sketch too.  I saw someone’s tent set up, and people are not supposed to camp on this land.  It was most likely a homeless person living there.  I passed two ladies while walking, a man with 2 dogs, and a man on his bike…not sure what the man on his bike was doing since the area wasn’t even good enough for running.

I think I will be keeping my distance from this side of the Canyon Trail.  It’s not a good area for a girl of my size to be walking through even during the day.  Safety is very important to me when I am running or walking.  I don’t do it at night, and I like well populated areas.  I also never run at the same time everyday.  I don’t want stalkers, and I try to do whatever I can to stay safe.

I am making one exception to the no running at night rule:  My First 5K!! My friend Edny and I will be running in the Crime Stoppers 24th Annual 5K in Balboa Park!!  I am very excited to be running in my first race and people will be dressed up for Halloween since the race starts at 7pm on Sat. October 23, 2010, and it is so close to the holiday 😉  I love dressing up for Halloween, but I need a costume that isn’t to annoying since I will be running.  What do you think?  I am looking for suggestions.  Maybe I could win a prize! 🙂

Yesterday, after my walk over the river and through the woods, I mapped out a 2 mile neighborhood run.  It had more incline than I expected, but flat is boring, so I’m happy with it.  The thing I want to do next is add some interval training.  More for a change up of the old routine and less for speed, but naturally speed with come too 😉

My plan for today is to map out another neighborhood run, and try it out 🙂

Until I write again,

Angie

This entry was posted in california, Clairemont, Exercise, Running, San diego, Walk 500 Miles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

