Run 1.3 & Exercising on an Empty Stomach??

Walk 500 Miles Update:  465/500 Complete.  Only 35 to GO!!

Today was training day 3 of week 1.  My plan was 3.1 miles, and I accomplished this goal.  See my Run 1.3 log.

I want to talk a little bit about not eating before exercising because that is what I did today and have done in the past.  Instead of eating, I had a cup of coffee, a swig of water, and I was out the door.  My run today started at around 10am when the sun was already high in the sky; so it was hot, hot, hot.

I didn’t pass out if that’s what you are thinking, but I did have a burst of energy at the beginning (probably due to the caffeine).  Then  I was feeling really exhausted a mile into my three mile run.  That is not good.  I couldn’t stop thinking how hungry and tired I was the whole time.  I’m sure everybody has different thoughts about this topic, but not eating is not for me.

I found this article and thought it was very interesting.  It talks about how running on an empty stomach burns more muscle fat.  I guess that’s good if you are trying really hard to lose weight, but what happens when you use up all of your energy running, and then want to eat a Thanksgiving dinner when you are done?  Overeating is definitely a draw back to this weight loss theory.  Not to mention exhaustion?  What if you pass out from hunger and dehydration?

There are so many reasons why this is not a good thing to do, and I am going to make sure to fuel up before the next time I decide to go for a run.  Some other things that help me are waiting an hour after eating to run and not drinking water while I am running; otherwise, if I choose to do either, then I start to get cramps.  So not fun.

When I came home from my run I showered, munched on some peanuts, and made some pancakes with strawberries:

Don’t these look yummy?

Then I was off to painting for a few hours.  Our room started out looking like powder blue with clouds:

and now it is Ocean Ridge.  It’s a shade of blue with violet undertones.  I will post a picture soon, but now I’m too tired.

I also took a picture of Pocket.  She is our roommates dog, and she is the cutest:

That’s all from me for today.  Time to relax.  No running tomorrow.  I’m tired and need some time off.

I’ll leave you with one question:  Do you run on an empty stomach and like to?

This entry was posted in california, Clairemont, Eating Right, Exercise, Food, Food Blog, Food Blogger, Running, San diego, San Diego Food Blogger, Walk 500 Miles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run 1.3 & Exercising on an Empty Stomach??

  1. DNR says:

    Skip the caffeine. It dehydrates you and probably increases that tired, empty feeling since coffee is a diuretic. Used to exercise all the time on an empty stomach and only had any issues when I had OJ before (pure sugar). OJ is good for replenishing your thirst after the fact but not good beforehand.

  2. Good advice. I knew it was bad I just did it anyway 😉 OJ is too acidic for me in general so I try to stay away once in a great while I will have a nice glass.

Leave a Reply

